(865) 637-5331

Knoxville Zoo's Mission

The mission of Knoxville Zoological Gardens is to celebrate the wonders of the natural world.  Through education, conservation, exhibition, research and recreation, the zoo will tell the stories of the animals, the plants and the people who make up the communities of the earth.  The zoo will develop positive attitudes and actions about nature and about conservation as a local and global issue.

Knoxville Zoo Board of Directors

  • Eddie Mannis, Chair of the Board
  • Lisa New, President and CEO
  • Sharon Miller Pryse, Treasurer/Secretary
  • Tim Williams, Immediate Past Chair
  • Daniel Brown
  • Chris Caldwell
  • Chelly Clayton
  • James B. Clayton
  • John Compton
  • Joan Cronan
  • Joe A. Fielden, Jr.
  • Greg Isaacs
  • Bavy Lopez
  • Greg Mackay
  • Dugan McLaughlin
  • Danny Pressley
  • Mintha Roach
  • Patrick Schaad
  • Mitch Steenrod
  • Dr. Jim Thompson
  • Tracy Thompson
  • Russ Watkins
  • Jim York

Honorary Directors

  • Williams E. Arant, Jr.
  • William W. Baxter
  • H. Pete Claussen
  • The Late Lee Congleton
  • Sam Furrow
  • David Moon
  • Patrick Roddy
  • Justice Gary Wade